Advertise On EU-Digest

Annual Advertising Rates


Schengen Treaty: EU to restore Schengen by end of the year

Seven out of 26 Schengen countries have emergency border controls in place, including Germany. On Friday, the Commission said it wanted them all lifted no later than December.

Under the Schengen agreement, 26 countries allow passport-free travel without border checks. But of those have re-introduced internal border controls since September in to help stem the most significant migration flows Europe has seen in decades.

Open internal borders are seen as a major achievement of European integration that improved travel, tourism, trade and supply chains across the bloc, boosting growth.

But the commission's plan also calls for a new European border and coast guard to start operating in the summer to secure the bloc's external borders. Overwhelmed Greece is to receive more support in securing its border with Turkey.

EU Commissioner Dimitris Avramopolous, who presented the plan on Friday, said managing Europe's borders was essential.

Read more: EU to restore Schengen by end of the year | News | DW.COM | 04.03.2016

No comments: